Skip to main content

School of Public Policy Recognizes Community’s Accomplishments at Annual Celebration

Back to All News
celebration of serving the public good

On June 17, the School of Public Policy hosted its third annual Celebration of Serving the Public Good, virtually. The event recognizes the accomplishments of the SPP community as a whole, as well as highlights the exceptional contributions of our students, faculty, staff and alumni.

“While we are unable to celebrate in person this year, carrying forward this new tradition of recognition is more important than ever,” said Dean Robert C. Orr. “In the past year, and particularly in the past few months, our students, staff and faculty have demonstrated the best of who we are and our continued commitment to service — to our School, to our community, our state, our country and our world.”

This year’s awardees are:

Members of the School community nominate faculty, staff, students and alumni for the awards. This year, awardees were recognized via video tributes and a live watch party with Dean Orr.

“In watching, I hope you share the same sense of pride in what we do everyday as I do,” he said. “Because it matters — to our students, to our colleagues and to the world beyond College Park.”

The Lifetime Service Award recognizes those who have made significant contributions to the School over many years. The School selected this year’s recipient, Professor Chris Foreman, for his impact in the classroom, as well as his work as a scholar, teacher and activist. Foreman is retiring at the end of June.

“I know that I speak for a lot of members of the SPP family that we will miss [his] friendship, in person, but we know that that friendship will continue long after Chris departs the College Park campus,” said Betty Duke, clinical professor.

“Does the English language have enough good words to adequately describe and honor Chris Foreman?,” said I.M. “Mac” Destler, professor emeritus. “Intelligent, brave, devoted to a serious and fair political process, in our nation, and in our School.”

The Dean’s Award honors a standout member of the community who furthers the School’s mission to educate, discover and make an impact in the world. The School awarded this recognition to Tom Hilde, associate research professor.

“The success of the Indonesia program, in particular, is due without question to his tireless efforts to advance the course each year, and I am fortunate to have been a part of it,” said Adriane Michaelis, post-doctoral researcher at Auburn University. Professor Hilde has impacted my education, my career and even my way of understanding the world and I can think of no one more fitting for this award.”

“In all that he does, in and out of the classroom, he keeps our feet to the fire and our minds focused on the importance of ethics, normative analysis and values in policy education,” Orr said.

To hear more from the community and learn about all of the awardees, view the awards video.

Read about the 2019 event

For Media Inquiries:
Megan Campbell
Senior Director of Strategic Communications
For More from the School of Public Policy:
Sign up for SPP News