Skip to main content

SPP Faculty, Students Inducted into Omicron Delta Kappa

Back to All News
Testudo in front of Riggs

Nina Harris and Jennifer Littlefield have been nominated for induction into Omicron Delta Kappa (ODK) for their efforts in catalyzing change at the School of Public Policy. The two professors inspire faculty, staff and students at SPP to pursue fearless ideas through their leadership.

“I really wouldn't have been able to do this without them,” said Jacqueline Ford ’19, MPP ’20. Ford nominated Harris and Littlefield thanks to the support they provided during her time at SPP. Their work in developing and growing the undergraduate policy program shows their dedication to fearless ideas at SPP. This membership is given to professionals who have exerted the 5 ideals of ODK- Scholarship, Service, Integrity, Character and Fellowship.

Harris, associate dean of undergraduate studies and clinical associate professor, encourages students throughout the undergraduate and graduate level to learn from diverse perspectives. Her graduate class, Pluralism in Public Policy, is now a required course in the MPP program. Her pursuit in diversifying the perspectives of policy allows students to question status quo policies and be innovative in their pursuit for change.  

Littlefield, director of undergraduate studies and lecturer, created the student engagement program, undergraduate public policy student ambassadors, which helps 379 undergraduate policy terps navigate the program. She also advises the policy professional fraternity, Kappa Omega Alpha (KOA).

Ford emphasized both Harris and Littlefield “have impacted UMD and beyond” through leading with empathy and pushing boundaries. In April, both Dr. Harris and Dr. Littlefield will be inducted into ODK.

In addition, leadership inducted SPP undergraduate students Emma Hammer, Grant Handley, Atara Kahn, and Elizabeth P. Mafrici. Master of Public Policy student Madelyn Miller also received the honor. For membership, students must rank in the upper thirty-five percent of their class, distinguish themselves in five areas of leadership, and be of unquestioned character. 

For Media Inquiries:
Megan Campbell
Senior Director of Strategic Communications
For More from the School of Public Policy:
Sign up for SPP News