Skip to main content

Trusting the Results: Delivering a Fair Election

Back to All Events
image of a ballot

Join the University of Maryland School of Public Policy, participating BIG10 universities and leading public health and elections experts for a collaborative special speaker series that will discuss safe, fair and full election participation. The second in the series is Trusting the Results: Delivering a Fair Election. 

Hosted by Dr. David Mussington, professor of the practice, director of the Center for Public Policy and Private Enterprise and an internationally known expert on critical infrastructure cybersecurity, this panel will focus on the mechanics of administering the election in a manner that upholds the integrity of the result, with a particular emphasis on both the security of election systems and normalizing the likelihood that a result will not be available immediately on election day. Should draw upon election administration, security, and process communication expertise to inform the principles for assessing a “fair” election.

Panelists include:

  • Matt Bishop, professor, Department of Computer Science, University of California, Davis
    Matt Bishop received his Ph.D. in computer science from Purdue University, where he specialized in computer security, in 1984. He is a professor in the Department of Computer Science at the University of California at Davis. His main research area is the analysis of vulnerabilities in computer systems. He also is interested in electronic voting, worked on numerous analyses of e-voting systems including the RABA study in Maryland, and was one of the two principle investigators of the California Top-to-Bottom Review, which performed a technical review of all electronic voting systems certified in the State of California. He is active in information assurance education, and co-led the Joint Task Force that developed the ACM/IEEE/ASIS SIGSAC/IFIP WG11.8 Cybersecurity Curricular Guidelines. The second edition of his textbook, Computer Security: Art and Science, was published in November 2018 by Addison-Wesley Professional. He teaches introductory programming, software engineering, operating systems, and (of course) computer security.
  • Duncan Buell, NCR chair and professor, Computer Science & Engineering, College of Engineering and Computing, University of South Carolina
    Duncan A. Buell received the Ph. D. degree in 1976 in mathematics from the University of Illinois at Chicago. He was an assistant and associate professor in the Department of Computer Science at Louisiana State University. From 1986 to 2000 he worked on high performance computing and computational mathematics at the Institute for Defense Analyses in support of the National Security Agency, and in 1997 he was part of a team that received a Meritorious Unit Citation from Director of Central Intelligence George Tenet for "a stunning achievement" that required the largest single computation ever made in the US intelligence community. He joined the University of South Carolina in October 2000 as a professor and served nine years as chair of the Department of Computer Science and Engineering and a year as interim dean of the college. He has research interests in electronic voting, digital humanities, text analysis, and computer science education. Most recently, he was appointed in March 2019 to the Commission on Voter Registration and Elections of Richland County, South Carolina, home to Columbia SC, state government, and the University of South Carolina.
  • Alex Halderman, professor of Computer Science & Engineering, University of Michigan; director, University of Michigan Center for Computer Security and Society
    J. Alex Halderman is Professor of Computer Science & Engineering at the University of Michigan and Director of Michigan's Center for Computer Security and Society. His research spans computer and network security, applied cryptography, security measurement, censorship resistance, and election cybersecurity, as well as the interaction of technology with politics and international affairs. Prof. Halderman has performed numerous security evaluations of real-world voting systems, both in the U.S. and around the world. After the 2016 U.S. presidential election, he advised recount initiatives in Michigan, Wisconsin, and Pennsylvania in an effort to help detect and deter cyberattacks, and in 2017 he testified to the U.S. Senate Intelligence Committee Russia investigation about cybersecurity threats to election infrastructure. He co-chairs the State of Michigan’s Election Security Advisory Commission.  
  • Dana Debeauvoir, Travis County Clerk, Travis County, Texas
    County Clerk Dana DeBeauvoir has always been inspired by public service. Her interest led her to obtain a Master’s Degree from the LBJ School of Public Affairs and ultimately to run for public office. Since her election as County Clerk in 1986, Dana has devoted herself to bringing high ethical standards, effective and cost efficient management practices, the benefits of new technology, and high quality customer service to the office of the County Clerk. The Clerk’s Office has a wide range of responsibilities including the conduct of elections; the filing and
    preservation of real property records; and the management of civil, probate, and misdemeanor court documents.

    Dana’s commitment to excellence in government has received nationwide acclaim. In 2009, Dana was named Public Official of the Year by the National Association of County Recorders, Election Officials and Clerks (NACRC). The National Association of Election Officials (Election Center) also awarded Dana with the 2009 Minute Man Award for developing an effective security practice that is effective, inexpensive, and easy for election officials to adopt.
    In 2005, she was the national recipient of the Election Center’s Best Practices Award for her work in using risk analysis to implement security measures for electronic voting systems. Travis County is also recognized across the country for its groundbreaking early voting program that is centered on customer-friendly polling locations in high-traffic retail locations.

    Dana serves as a Texas Representative on the federal Election Commission Assistance Standards Board and on the Board of Directors and as the Election Committee Chair for the National Association of County Recorders, Elections Officials, and Clerks.

Registration is required. Can't make it during the scheduled time? Feel free to register and we will email you the recording after the event.

For Media Inquiries:
Megan Campbell
Senior Director of Strategic Communications
For More from the School of Public Policy:
Sign up for SPP News